September 27, 2021

On the lookout for spooky titles?

As October approaches, perhaps you’re looking for a few new titles to add to your collection of spooky / thrilling / haunted / mysterious books. We’d like to share three books from our partner publisher, Hachette Children’s Group. If you’re interested in ordering any of these books, or if you’d like a curated list of titles on a different topic, just send us an email. 

MONSTERS By Sarah Banville

The perfect book for adults and children to share, MONSTERS is set to become a bone-chilling classic that will lurk under every bed in 2021!

Ever wondered what terrorised the Scape Ore swamp in 1980s South Carolina? Or who visits the naughty children in Northern Europe to punish them on Christmas Eve? Or how bloated undead feeders got upgraded to a shape-shifting castle-dwelling Count? From well-known and well-feared monsters like Bigfoot and the Loch Ness Monster, to the lesser-known, but just as weird and wonderful Japanese Sea Serpent and Chinese Hopping Vampires, this terrific book is the must-have guide to monsters from all over the world. 

Each monster is brought to life in a bright and bold way by the fantastically stylish illustrator of the bestselling Stories for Boys Who Dare to Be Different series, Quinton Winter. These illustrations feature alongside the fascinating folklore and history which surrounds the monsters, researched by author and monster enthusiast, Sarah Banville. 

***

THE SAD GHOST CLUB By Lize Meddings

Ever felt anxious or alone? Like you don’t belong anywhere? Like you’re almost… invisible? Find your kindred spirits at The Sad Ghost Club. 

(You are not alone. Shhh. Pass it on.)

This is the story of one of those days – a day so bad you can barely get out of bed, when it’s a struggle to leave the house, and when you do, you wish you hadn’t. But even the worst of days can surprise you. When one sad ghost, alone at a crowded party, spies another sad ghost across the room, they decide to leave together. What happens next changes everything. 

Because that night they start the The Sad Ghost Club – a secret society for the anxious and alone, a club for people who think they don’t belong. 

Stunningly illustrated, this is Volume 1 in a new graphic novel series, for fans of Heartstopper and Jennifer Niven, and for anyone who’s ever felt invisible. 

***

MARY’S MONSTER By Lita Judge

The dark, captivating story of one remarkable young woman. And her monster.

Creative genius…? Inventor of science fiction…? Pregnant teenage runaway…? Who was the real Mary Shelley? 

Mary’s Monster is the compelling and beautifully illustrated story of Frankenstein‘s author Mary Shelley – the original rebel girl and an inspiration for everyone from teenage readers to adult. Aged 16 and pregnant, Mary runs away to Switzerland with the married poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. Few people would have guessed that that fateful act would lead to a gothic novel still celebrated 200 years later. But cast out by her family and isolated by society, Mary Shelley created Frankenstein and his monster, forged in the fire of her troubled and tragic life. 

Part biography and part graphic novel, Mary’s Monster is an engrossing take on one remarkable young woman and her monster.


Subscribe to our newsletter

We promise not to spam you.


Previous news